AfIHQSA is supported by a competent board made up of three Executive Members and 3 non-executive members. These are:

Peter Carter: Peter has worked internationally in healthcare quality and safety in developed and developing countries for 30 years. His particular areas of interest are organisation for quality improvement, education, innovation, the challenges of an ageing population and resourcing developing countries to enable quality enhancement. For sixteen years Peter was CEO of the specialist medical colleges of psychiatrists and surgeons of Australia and New Zealand (with strong international links, especially in Asia) working to incorporate quality improvement into training programs and professional development and building research capacity. In addition, Peter has held senior positions in universities and colleges, both in management and teaching roles. In 2008/2009 and again from 2011 Peter was acting CEO then CEO of ISQua for five years during which time ISQua completed a move from Australia to Dublin and underwent rapid expansion including the enhancement of existing and development of new programs, including Education, Low and Middle-Income Countries and Innovation, and financial and management consolidation was achieved. He was honoured with Life Membership of ISQua in 2017. Peter consults widely across healthcare quality and education and advises on quality management. In line with his interest in developing countries, Peter was recently appointed Mentor and Patron of the Africa Institute for Quality, Safety and Accreditation whose job it is to address capacity gaps among frontline healthcare providers and stakeholders in healthcare in quality and safety. In his spare time Peter has interests in wool production in outback Australia and he likes to spend time on Australia’s beautiful beaches.

Dr. Bhupendra K. Rana: Bhupendra is the Founding CEO of Quality & Accreditation Institute (QAI) and former Director of NABH, Quality Council of India. He served International Society for Quality in Health Care (ISQua) as elected Vice-Chairman- Accreditation Council (2008-2014) and Chairman- Accreditation Council (2014-2016). He was appointed Director on ISQua Board from 2014 to 2016. Concurrently, he served as President of Asian Society for Quality in Healthcare (ASQua) in 2011 & 12 and now serving as Director on its Board and Chairman- Technical Committee. He has many honours to his credit including an appointment as ‘ISQua Expert’. Because of his unparalleled mastery and knowledge, he took part in WHO’s International Steering Committee for Patient Safety and served also as External Consultant of World Health Organization (WHO) on setting hospital accreditation program. His expertise on Standardisation, Quality, and Accreditation include establishing accreditation bodies [Laboratory (ISO/IEC 17011) and Healthcare Providers (ISQua)], External Quality Assessment Schemes (ISO/IEC 17043), Standard Development, Training Program Development, Implementation of the Requirements of ISO/IEC 17025, ISO 15189 and ISO/IEC 17043.